The Nebraska Museums Association presents awards for outstanding achievements in the museum field during its annual meeting in the fall. Members and non-members of NMA are invited and encouraged to nominate individuals and institutions for this year’s awards. Self-nominations are also accepted. There are two categories, including the Hugh H. Genoways Award of Achievement and the Award of Recognition.

  • Hugh H. Genoways Award
    The Genoways Award is given in recognition of long-term or exceptionally outstanding contributions to museums in Nebraska. This award is named in honor of the museum association’s first president, Dr. Hugh H. Genoways, former director of the University of Nebraska State Museum. Dr. Genoways was the first recipient of this award in 1994. Other recipients include Don Hill, Curator of the Cass County Historical Society Museum in Plattsmouth, presented posthumously in 1996; Nebraska State Quilt Guild, for the Quilt Preservation Project in 1997; Karen O. Janovy, Curator of  Education, Sheldon Memorial Art Gallery and Assistant Professor of Museum Studies,  University of Nebraska-Lincoln in 1999; Sandi Yoder, Executive Director, Stuhr Museum of the Prairie Pioneer, Grand Island.
  • Award of Recognition:
    The Award of Recognition is given for a specific exhibit, project, program, or individual achievement. This award recognizes the great work which museums across Nebraska accomplish each year.

Please send nominations, supporting materials, letters of support, etc., to: NMA President.